Three Weeks Down

Three full weeks of school are in the books and as to be expected a lot has happened and been learned by myself and my students. A lot of adjusting has happened. A lot of getting used to a schedule that rotates every day. A lot of organization. A lot of e-mails. A lot of lesson planning. A lot of names.

With all of these adjustments I have made some mistakes and successes. A list has already started to grow of what I want and will change for the next year. Seating arrangements, how to start the first day, what do I really want the kids to learn and understand first. How to learn names quickly and efficiently.

That being said it has not been a “bad” three weeks. I have started to build rapport in my classroom with my students; even those classes that I’ve had a bumpy time with in the past few weeks are starting to even out and become focused and successful. I have learned and assessed my students. My pacing of a lesson has improved which has been all important for those kindergarten classes that need that little wiggle break in the midst of everything and those older classes who have showed me they can handle a lot of curriculum.

So am I happy with the last three weeks? Very much so as an educator. Have I set up a basic and stable launch pad for my students to leap of off and spiral into new curriculum? Most definitely. So here’s to the next three weeks.

Leave a comment